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Vermont titles vehicles (including Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles) that are
15 years old or newer based on the calendar year.

From January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2024, Vermont will title vehicles with the model year 2010 or newer.

All vehicles not titled in Vermont that meet the criteria below will be submitted to the National Motor Vehicle
Title Information System (NMVTIS) using the registration number instead of a title number. All Vermont title

numbers contain 13 characters.

The title will be mailed directly to you if you own the vehicle free and clear (no loan). If you have a loan on the vehicle, the
title will be mailed to the entity holding the loan (not the owner) within three weeks of the processing of your registration.

If the vehicle has more than one owner, you need to indicate Rights of Survivorship (see types of ownership for more
information).

NO VERMONT CERTIFICATE OF TITLE WILL BE ISSUED FOR THE FOLLOWING:

Any Vehicle, Vessel, ATV, or snowmobile over 15 years old based on the calendar year.
Any Vessel less than 16 feet in length.

Any vessel such as a canoe, kayak, or similar watercraft designed to be manually propelled or equipped with a motor
not exceeding ten horsepower.

A vehicle/vessel/ATV/snowmobile owned by the United States Government unless registered in the State.
A vehicle/vessel /ATV/snowmobile owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale.

A vehicle/vessel regularly engaged in the interstate transportation of persons or property for which a current Certificate
of Title has been issued in another state.

Motorcycles with an engine size smaller than 300 ccs.

Motorcycles powered by electricity with less than 20 kilowatts of engine power.
Motor-driven cycles.

Tractors with a loaded weight of 6,099 Ibs. or less.

Trailers with an empty weight of 1,500 Ibs. or less.

Track Vehicles (Title optional):

Track vehicles will not be registered, but they may be titled.

1. Title fees will be due.

2. Areassignment of ownership on a secure document (MSO) is required.
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https://dmv.vermont.gov/NMVTIS
https://dmv.vermont.gov/NMVTIS
https://dmv.vermont.gov/tax-title/vehicle-title/types-of-vehicle-ownership

=  Other Title Exemptions:

The following vehicles are exempt from titling. These may be titled, if the proper documentation and fees are
submitted.

1. "Road Making Appliances" are vehicles drawn by a separate motorized power unit and designed for and used
exclusively for building, repair, or maintenance of roads or highways or while being transported from job to job in
connection with the building, repair or maintenance of roads or highways, except contractor's trailers. These
vehicles, as defined in law, are listed below:

Asphalt Excavator Retreading Spreaders
Reclaimers Graders Machines Steam Boilers
Asphalt Pavement Rock Crushers Sweeper
Scarifiers Heaters Rollers Traffic Control
Bucket Loaders Pavers Rooters Boards
Bulldozer Portable Electric Scrapers

Compressors Generators Screening Plants

Concrete Mixer Power Shovels Snow Loaders

2. The following are exempt but not considered "Road Making Appliances.”

Backhoe Euclid Skidder
Cement Mixer (trailer Forklift Street Sweepers
type) Sidewalk Snowplows

TO OBTAIN A VERMONT CERTIFICATE OF TITLE, AN APPLICANT MUST HAVE:

= A Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin or
= Avalid Certificate of Title or
=  An Out-of-State registration (vehicle 15 years old or newer, last registered in a non-title state) or a Certified Copy or

= An Out-of-state registration (vessels 15 years old or newer, and 16 feet or more, last registered in a non-title state) or a
Certified Copy.

= All motor vehicles 15 years old or newer registered in Vermont, except those listed above, must have a Certificate of
Title. All vessels 15 years old or newer of 16 feet in length or greater registered in Vermont, except those listed above,
must have a Certificate of Title. All ATVs and Snowmobiles 15 years old or newer, except those owned by the United
States Government or owned by a manufacturer or dealer, held for sale. All owned by nonresidents whose state of
residence does not require a certificate of title from them or owned by a non-resident whose residential state does
require a certificate of title to be issued and it has been applied for.

To make an application for a title, a Vermont Registration Application (VD-119) or Vermont Snowmobile Registration
Application (VD-038), or Vermont Motorboat Registration (VD-037) must be submitted and accompanied by the required
fees and supporting documents. The assignment of any Vermont registration can be withheld indefinitely pending
compliance with the Vermont Title requirements.

All liens upon motor vehicles, ATVs, vessels, or snowmobiles acquired before the current calendar year minus 15 years are
not otherwise subject to the provisions of motor vehicle titling in Vermont and should be recorded with the appropriate
Town Clerk and the Vermont Secretary of State.

If you require any further information or assistance, please contact Registration/License Information at 802.828.2000.



	Title Informational Bulletin
	All vehicles not titled in Vermont that meet the criteria below will be submitted to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) using the registration number instead of a title number. All Vermont title numbers contain 13 characters.
	 Other Title Exemptions:

	Backhoe
	Skidder
	TO OBTAIN A VERMONT CERTIFICATE OF TITLE, AN APPLICANT MUST HAVE:




